Will’s Memory: Licking It

17 Dec

I like Top Ramen.  More specifically, I like the Maruchan brand of ramen noodles.  When Tracie and I were young, we’d often eat them as an afternoon snack or my mom would make the authentic Asian ones for lunch on the weekends.  I loved the seasoning packets and would open them up and lick whatever was left over on the sides or corner.  Sometimes my mom would be health-conscious and when making several packages, she wouldn’t put one of the seasoning packets in and leave it in a drawer.  That was always a treasure to find and I’d eat them raw.  Soooo good . . .  Well, not that I’m older and wiser I don’t do that anymore.  After I put the seasoning packet in, I don’t open it and lick the rest.  I just take 1 itty bitty lick and I’m done.  I’ve matured.  I’m Will and I’m weird.

Maruchan Pork Flavor Ramen Noodle SoupNow that I think about it, what WAS she saving the packets for???  And Pork is my favorite!

7 Responses to “Will’s Memory: Licking It”

  1. Mickie December 17, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    I think all moms compulsively save stuff, like extra Ketchup packets from McDonalds… maybe it was just that generation.

    I liek the top of my yoplait yogurts, and so does Ty now even if their isn’t yogurt on there he just thinks that is what you do. BUT maybe that is a little different. I DID when I was a kid though eat a few bullion cubes mistaking them for candy and deciding I actually kind of liked it (Bleck) so maybe that is close to the same thing.

  2. Kay December 17, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    I love this declaration, “I’m Will and I’m weird.” Sounds like you have formed your own WAG, (Weird Anonymous Group)

    Maybe Chrissie should be your next member? She always says she has a tilted sense of humor too! hahaha!

  3. Kristin December 17, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    I think it is just gross!

  4. Tracie Ware December 17, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    Mom still saves the packets. She did it while she was here over Thanksgiving.

  5. Mike December 17, 2010 at 6:16 pm #

    Your mother-in-law used to make it for lunch when she was young and to cool it down she would add milk! Just isnt’t the same that way!

  6. hgundred December 17, 2010 at 7:29 pm #

    Ramen was big in our house growing up…never licked the packets, but then again aren’t we all weird in our own ways! 😉

  7. Chrissie December 22, 2010 at 9:32 am #

    Haha Kay! 🙂 I save the seasoning packets too, but I don’t know why. I guess I figure I can use them sometime for seasoning something. I never thought to taste it though. I am not a big taste tester when I am cooking. Can’t bring myself to lick the spoon while cooking. I rely on sense of smell. It grosses me out to taste it while it’s cooking and then I can’t eat it.
    I’m Chrissie and I’m crazy.

Leave a Reply

