Will’s Entry: For Freeeeeeee?

6 Jan

That title sounds a lot funnier when I say it out loud. 

One of our goals for 2011 is to get a new dining table and chairs.  We’re hoping for one with a bench since our dining numbers are highly variable.  With a 3rd kid I don’t think we even need a pull-out leaf anymore!  I was looking online and came across this set.

It really wasn’t what I was looking for but it said $0-$850.  That caught my eye and so I clicked on it and sure enough, there was a color scheme that was priced at $0.  Oooooh, should we try ordering it?  Kristin was more tender-hearted than I so she didn’t want to take advantage of someone’s mistake.  I, on the other hand, was curious to see what would happen so she agreed to let me try ordering it with the condition of not making a fuss if they didn’t honor that price.  Sounds good to me, so I tried placing the order and it went through and everything!  I even got an email confirming everything.

Well, the next morning at lunch I got a call from the company (I had totally forgotten that I had “bought” the set)  It was kind of funny because she said she received the ordered but that I hadn’t paid.  I said, “I paid what it asked me to . . .”  Well she said it was their mistake and I told her she could go ahead and cancel the order.  It would have been interesting if they had called us to say “Come on over and pick it up!” though.

Does anyone else count down very often?  For example, when I’m measuring ten scoops for Elena’s formula, I’ll count (aloud), “10 . . . 9 . . . 8 . . .)  Or when I need Kristin to count 3 seconds for me to get out of bed, I’ll request that she count backwards.  Reasoning:

  • I lose count when I try to count ascending sometimes.  My mind gets ahead of itself and I second-guess myself.
  • If you it’s ascedning, I’ll just keep going even after I’ve met my “target”

I’m Will and I’m weird.

4 Responses to “Will’s Entry: For Freeeeeeee?”

  1. hgundred January 6, 2011 at 11:08 am #

    I count down too…and I heard the FOR FREEEE in my head (scary but true). 😉

  2. Kay January 6, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Darn, about the table!

    And you can talk to all the ladies who come to KickBox, I totally count down and mess up ALL the time.

  3. Tracie Ware January 6, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

    Ah man…that’s a bummer. But it would’ve been a totally awesome story to tell if you made them honor it.

  4. Chrissie January 14, 2011 at 8:21 am #

    So THAT’S been my problem… I’ve been ascending instead of descending all this time! That was a nice table – I think I would have started bargaining.

Leave a Reply

