Gingerbread Houses

10 Jan

I am behind on my pictures. These are still from the 22nd. Maybe by the end of the month I will have all of the christmas pictures up and posted.

We have decided that I am not a very good frosting maker. My royal icing was not stiff enough, but in my defence the recipe said to beat to soft not stiff peeks.

Joanna helped Jason and Sierra make their own houses, while I made triple layer lemon bars in the background. I had to do something with all those egg yolks!

Cute kids with their creation!

Hummm Jason?

Ty watching tv. He entertained himself while we build houses…

3 Responses to “Gingerbread Houses”

  1. Mickie January 10, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    FOR the RECORD Your icing was WONDERFUL on my house, I think it was only mom that had the issues and she was building straight up… 🙂

  2. Suzanne January 10, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    It worked on mine too! Oh and I made one… mine is next to Mickie’s (the foil with a few crackers on it… Maybe I was investigating designs)

  3. HeadNurse January 10, 2011 at 10:11 pm #

    Glue guns work really well for contruction :)- they do! – but if you haven’t tried using meringue powder (in the cake decor area) you should try it- lots nicer than egg whites. Also- if you are using it for construction- it has to be freshly made-

    We love this tradition at our house too-

Leave a Reply

