Locked out

10 Feb

Yesterday was a typical day. Drop Jason off at pre-school, register him for kindergarten, and pick him up. It all went according to plan until we got home. Sierra and Jason were racing to get inside. She definitely won. When Jason tried to get in the door it was locked. Some times our door gets stuck and I thought not a problem, I will just open it for him. Come to find out Sierra had really locked the door. The problem lies where she accidentally locked it and has no clue how she did it. I also keep all of the doors locked.

As the kids were walking home from school all they could hear from our garage was me yelling through the door, “Sierra, calm down. Do you see the door handle? Can you turn the door handle? Ok now do you see the pokey thing on the door handle? Turn that to unlock the door. Do you see it?” I hear a faint crying, “No.”

I know exactly how Sierra is going to act in an emergency (I hope she never has to go through one) and it is not the calm, I can get through this, lets figure this out way. She is the freak out, can’t think, freezes kind of person. I could hear her sitting down at the corner of the door crying. Not doing a thing, she gave up.

I then tried to take our trafalga pass and break in to the house. I am not a very good robber. I couldn’t do it. Plus it didn’t help that Sierra pulled the card through the door and started to freak out even more when she couldn’t get the card through the door like I did. Great.

Finally after 10 minutes of trying to coax her to open the garage door I thought maybe she would be able to unlock the front door with out hesitation. No I was wrong again. After about 5 minutes I start to make other plans in my head. (Have a neighbor come over while I drive to Will’s work and get his key, etc) Finally I decided to break into our bathroom window. Thank goodness I was successful or else I don’t know what I would have done. I lowered Jason into the bathroom and he saved the day.

Right away I gave Sierra big hug until she was calmed down and then I put a house key on my key ring.

7 Responses to “Locked out”

  1. Mickie February 10, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    Oh Sierra,… Good idea to put a key on your key ring. Might I suggest hiding a house key somewhere in the garage as well for later in life when the garage door is locked and Jason is coming home from school and you aren’t quite there yet but he knows the key code to get into the garage. All these things the think about 🙂

  2. Kelly February 10, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    Oh dear, how traumatic! I’m glad to hear that it worked out OK. I locked myself out of my apartment on Saturday when I was doing laundry outside. Mike couldn’t hear me knocking on the door so I had to go around to the front door and ring the doorbell a billion times. Thank goodness it was the weekend and Mike was home, otherwise I wouldn’t have known the sliding glass door locks itself sometimes.

  3. hgundred February 10, 2011 at 11:32 am #

    Oh my! Poor Cra! I am so glad you worked it out. I have had a couple of locking outs, but mine was in a car and T just sat there smiling at me. 😛

  4. Tracie Ware February 10, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    We were locked out when we got home Tuesday night. Luckily it wasn’t too late and I called the gal that was watching our cats so I could get the key. If it had been really late, there would have been absolutely no way we would’ve been able to get into the house.

  5. Kay February 10, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    This must have been the phone calls yesterday, that I forgot to follow up with. Sorry.

    Oh poor Sierra! I think you’re assessment of her in stressful situations might be accurate. Again Poor Sierra!

    Do you remember the few(many) rules when you were growing up? No slamming doors or cupboards. No screaming. No touching the walls. No locking any one out of the house when playing. Oh. I could go on…..wait…I have to include no chanting, after three times it’s a chant! That one always cracked me up!

  6. trish February 10, 2011 at 2:22 pm #

    Poor kid. I remember watching Art break into our old house several times when we had locked our selves out. Once while Mom and Dad were in D.C.:)

  7. Chrissie February 15, 2011 at 6:27 am #

    Those rules cracked me up too! Especially the chanting one… boy do I hate chanting! One time Taryn locked me out of the car on purpose when I was filling up with gas. She was so happy about it she was jumping up and down on the back seats… it was only about 102 degrees outside. It took a bit for her to figure out how to UNLOCK them. I doubt I have ever given a more evil eye in my entire life.

    It might help Sierra if you start exemplifying some minor problem solving – make sure to always clue her in that there is a situation and let her try to figure it out with just a little help. Give her lots of praise and build up her confidence that she is staying calm, thinking it thru, asking for help, using her resources, etc. You provide examples and talk her through it enough (and I’m talking years here) and she might learn not to panic, or at least panic and then stop panicking!, and to problem solve on her own, and feel good about herself when she does.

Leave a Reply

