Will’s Entry: Line upon Line, with no 3pt Line

13 Apr

About a month ago, I was asked to give a talk in church.  Surprising to most people, I’m actually someone who gets pretty nervous about that kind of stuff.  Being a Cubmaster helped me learn how to fake/project comfortableness though.  The first speakers flew there stuff and it left another lady and me about 40 minutes to fill.  Luckily, the other lady was my hero and took 20 minutes and I managed to get close enough to the target closing time.

The subject for me was Temples.  I guess the highlights were that I compared visiting the temple to visiting our parents’ home after we have left.  If we don’t visit every once in a while, parents just start missing us.  I made it pretty heart-wrenching and afterwards our neighbor actually told Kristin how much he was touched by that part.  I also talked about kids and science centers.  Specifically, there’s sometimes those pairs of giant “dishes” where you can stand at one and hear what is said at the other one.  The temples are a bit like that.  Before our understanding our science came into effect, the dishes would seem almost magical.  The connection between heaven and earth can feel that way too sometimes.

Now those may have been the highlights of what I said, but I totally spaced it on what was going to be my favorite part.  Now applied this concept to temples, but it could easily be related to spirituality, faith, parenting, simply life in general.  I could probably relate it to spelling and math if I wanted to.  I have found that it’s a part of our nature to be curious about things that we do not yet understand and frustrated when told that we need to wait to receive knowledge. 

Now I’m going to compare this to my experience with kids on a basketball court.  Give kids free reign and suddenly you have 8-10 year olds spending all their time shooting from the 3pt line.  It’s not pretty as their form is atrocious as they’re using all their energy to throw it far enough and there’s no accuracy involved.  I wish I could just scrub out the line so they would practice makeable 7 foot shots instead.  In my opinion, the 3pt line is hindering their progression.

810-drew-basketball-jump-sh.jpg

See where I’m going with this?  Sometimes a bit of knowlege can be dangerous.  If provided too early, it can take focus off the more important goals and understanding.  Often times, we need to learn principles and fundamentals before moving on.  Yes, Isaiah 28:10 “For precept must be upon precept, precept upon precept; line upon line, line upon line; here a little, and there a little”.  Does anyone have a seat next to them?  I’m going to get off my soapbox now.

5 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Line upon Line, with no 3pt Line”

  1. Kay April 13, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    I quite enjoyed your soap box, thank you! And I wish I could have heard the talk in it’s entirety. If you have it written out, I’d quite enjoy a copy.

  2. joanna wu April 13, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

    Ditto. I always think you are a gifted writier and an original thinker.

  3. Mickie April 14, 2011 at 9:11 am #

    Note to self if I ever have to give a talk on temples refer back to this post… Nice analogies! I need to use those more in my speaking as well.

  4. hgundred April 15, 2011 at 10:23 am #

    I WANT A COPY TOO! What a great analogy! 🙂

  5. Jensa April 15, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    That was pretty deep, Will! I might be using that basketball analogy in a future talk. But I’ll be sure to say, “Copyright Will Wu 2011” afterwards. 🙂

Leave a Reply

