The Bird

6 May

In March I decided to venture out in the cold and grill some meat. I noticed that there were sticks, twigs, and grass in the BBQ. I didn’t think anything of it. I cleared the grill and went on my merry way.

A few days later I went out to grill again. There was even more debris on the grill. That is when I had that moment, “Oh my, there is a bird trying to build a nest on my grill!” So for the next few days I was consistently grilling hoping that the bird would be discouraged. Nope wasn’t working.

I haden’t grilled for a week. I went out there and sure enough there was a full birds nest in the grill. She had found a mate and they built up the nest pretty fast. I disposed of it and it took a full trash bag. It was a HUGE nest. I thought ok maybe that will stop them.

The next morning I went outside to check and there was half of a nest rebuild. For the next few days it was a battle between the birds and I. Every day I would dispose of the nest and every day they would build a new one.

OK how the heck are they getting in? Through the top… So Will and I blocked it off with a blanket. It worked pretty well. I would find a nest only when a wind storm blew the blanket off.

Sure enough two days ago the blanket came away from the corner. As I was outside with the kids I heard a noise. I thought that the bird was IN the grill. As I was lifting up the lid slowly (I couldn’t have the bird fly at me), the scratching became more intense. I shut the lid again and looked over to the side. Sure enough the bird was caught. She tried to get in through the top and when she couldn’t do that she keep her head in the hole and wiggled her way down to the bottom of the opening which is a smaller hole. Her head was stuck in and her body out. It was a tight squeeze for her poor little neck.

I, of course freaked out. I couldn’t grab the bird. So I ran down stairs and grabbed Colton. He was the hero! He grabbed the bird, wiggled it up to the top of the grill, and let her go.

I looked a little bit later and where the bird was trapped there is a ton of bird poop. I think if I was stuck like that I would poop my pants too! I am hoping that that incident has finally detoured the birds from building a nest there. I guess only time will tell.

3 Responses to “The Bird”

  1. Tracie Ware May 6, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    That’s pretty funny. I thought you were going to say something like you didn’t check the grill before you turned it on and had your own version of BBQ chicken. 🙂 Thankfully Colton came to the rescue.

  2. Kay May 6, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Is that why they came up with the phrase “Bird Brain?”

    You could just keep the grill burning constantly….hahaha!

  3. Kay May 6, 2011 at 2:56 pm #

    An Epic Saga continues, will the mother bird finally decide that is an unfit place to raise her hatchlings? A flaming death would be pretty terrible I would think.

Leave a Reply

