Will’s Entry: Goin’ Goin’ – Gone

9 May

Yep, our good buddies have officially left the state of UT.  Yes, MickieMatt’s been around since we ever moved to our home and we’ve always enjoyed their company.  They both lived in our basement at some point and I think that probably added to our friendships.  Since they both have lived with us, it was always easy to have them come over.  I think Kristin only cleaned half as hard if they were the only ones visiting.  Having Mickie around was always good for Kristin because she was always good support for Kristin’s crafty side and Matt was always good for a round of disc golf or anything else.  I sometimes wish we lived closer so that we could feed each others addiction for a game of basketball.  As for disc golf, I remember that I really didn’t know Matt that well in the beginning and I’d wonder if he “really” wanted to go disc golfing with me and if he probably thought I was a big dork for having that hobby.  Well, it took a couple years to realize it but he loves the sport as much as I do.  So much so that he has probably surpassed me in skill (not much though!).  We did the Art Dye tournament this Saturday and it was beautiful weather.  He placed 1st and I got 4th out of 15-ish people.  (Note to self:  Make sure that Jason puts back the discs he takes out & that I have a towel for my sweaty hands)  We both made a little money and that’s always fun.  Now he’s going to the Portland area where some of the best players and courses reside.  Hopefully he’ll have great stories to share in the future.

Lastly, Ty will be missed.  Just about any Saturday was a special day because it was a day that we could say “Ty’s coming!”.  Knowing that Ty would be excited to be here would make the kids’ eyes gleam.  I look forward to the next time that the kid-gang will be reunited just to see that excitement again. 

Well, that’s it.  I just wanted to express MY appreciation for the MickieMatts’ friendship over the years and it’s a minor regret that it never occured to me to get a pic of our two families together at this time for posterity’s sake.  I can imagine it though and we’ve all got big ole smiles!

2 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Goin’ Goin’ – Gone”

  1. Melissa Spence May 11, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    That was a nice blog post – I’m sure both your family and Mickie’s are very sad you won’t be getting together on a weekly basis. We used to live near our sibling’s families in CA and OR, it was so nice. Now we don’t have any siblings around so it’s always very special when we get to see each other usually once a year. I’m sure it’ll be the same for y’all!

  2. Mickie May 11, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Awe shucks Will! Yep Ty will be one happy camper to see his cousins again! We hope to make it out there more then once a year! At least the kids and I!

    We just got the internet so I am sure Matt will be looking up some DG course locations soon. He’ll be doing a lot of that after we get the house in shape 🙂

Leave a Reply

