First day of Kindergarten

31 Aug

The first day of Kindergarten went great. Jason could not wait to get out the door. I heard “Mom, when is kindergarten?” All morning long. Lets just say that he doesn’t have any attachment issues. He is so independent and wants to get out there and learn everything he can!

Before he left Will gave him a father’s blessing. Jason felt a little silly, but I think he really enjoyed it. Then we were off…

When we arrived at the school I asked him to take me to his classroom. I walked behind him and let him lead the way. It is not directly in the front of the school, but I was impressed with just two times of going to that classroom he knew exactly where he was going.

He hung up his backpack, put his folder in his cubby, and he found his seat. He has a great memory. I didn’t even need to be there!

He is in the sneetch group (See corner of his table). He sat down and started to play with the stuff at the table. I gave him a kiss and I was off. He had a great first day. He told us all about tokens that they get for being good which they can trade for treasure at the end of the month. “But if you don’t sit ‘criss cross applesauce’ you get your token taken away.” He told me about 2 new friends that he made, but he can not remember their names. I am sure in the next few weeks I will hear about a lot more new friends. He had a great time at recess, but the slide “burned my butt.” and after he played at the bean table. He was so excited that he could pick what activity he could do. He LOVED his first day of school. I have already been asked when he gets to go back.

I will admit I teared up a few times. I am happy that he gets to go to school, but sad that he is growing up. I can’t believe that he is that old! I was really lost with just Elena and Sierra at home yesterday. Something I am sure I will get use to. Things were a lot more quiet and I had to do a lot more entertaining. I am pretty nervous about today. Both Sierra and Jason have school. That means that it will just be Elena and I for a whole 2 hours. What is that going to be like? I haven’t had just one baby at home in what seams like forever. Just to change things up I already have a trip to the library planned for myself.

5 Responses to “First day of Kindergarten”

  1. Mickie August 31, 2011 at 8:06 am #

    Ahhh yay! I m so glad you took tons of pictures. My little Jason is growing up and I can’t even believe it!

    I can’t wait for more stories from Kindergarten… it will be awesome.

    Wow one Baby today? I am kind of jealous think of all the things you could get done! 🙂

  2. Melissa Spence August 31, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Oh don’t worry you will start enjoying your alone time with your girls or just Elena. 😉

    Those pics are so cute, I’m glad to hear he is SO excited about school. Madeline was the queen of earning good behavior tokens/tickets for the treasure chest in both kinder and 1st. She’s quite the teacher’s pet actually. LOL

    I hope Jason earns a lot of tokens! 🙂

  3. Kay August 31, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    Oh, the things you’ll be able to do now! And get them done a bit faster too, with out the interruption of drinks, fights, or putting on shoes. You can make dinner early, or clean a bathroom in 15 minutes, or go to the store, or read a whole chapter in a book with out any one yelling at you for your help! Oh the things you can do!

    That was funny when he told me the slide burned his butt!

  4. Tracie Ware August 31, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    Yay for kindergarten. Glad to hear what a great day it was for him. Also love the kicks. 🙂

  5. joanna September 2, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Yeah for Jason knowing how to follow directions. It seemed like his teacher is well organized. What a great start of this journey

Leave a Reply

