Gingerbread Houses

18 Jan

I am procrastinating… Might as well blog right? I am preparing the YW activity tonight. I need to make a treat for the activity. The Mia Maids are coming to my house after, so I need to clean up toys, and we have the appraiser coming at 4. I am thrilled that we are moving to a 15 year loan. I will be less then 45 when we have the house paid off. It is going to be tight, but I think that this is a well worth it switch!

Anyways here are some pictures from gingerbread houses this year…

Jason was testing the frosting. It was gross this year. I blame it all on the powdered sugar. It really was gross. How do you make gross PS? They some how managed to…

Here are all of the participants this year…

Suzanne really does put her construction skills into use every year…

Grandma Kay was great and helped the kids this year.

While I was doing my own creation… A royal icing house!

Finished products… And yes I missed Suzanne and Prestons 😦

I was commissioned by a lady in the ward to make microwaveable potato bags. While I was sewing away all afternoon, my mom finished my house. She even added stained glass and a rock foundation. 

Finished product. This opens up whole new possibilities!

5 Responses to “Gingerbread Houses”

  1. Melissa Spence January 18, 2012 at 9:50 am #

    Wow yours is awesome! Great job everyone!

  2. Mickie January 18, 2012 at 9:57 am #

    wow! That house looks AMAZING! Your description of it to me over the phone just didn’t do it justice! Thanks for blogging it, I may try that next year… if I have the patience.

    Everyone else’s houses look good too i guess 🙂

    P.S. I LOVE my potato bag. I use it ALL the time Mmmm Baked Potato Goodness.

  3. Kay January 18, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    Yep, your house was pretty cool! Wish we had a chance to get the yard in shape too! Oh well! And too bad you didn’t get Zan and Preston’s finished product! It was good lookin’ too!

  4. Kay January 18, 2012 at 12:09 pm #

    Oh, and I forgot to tell you, Schmidt’s want you to come a week in November. They want us to make a huge house castle for the Gingerbread Jubilee. I said I can go to Utah, but that it’s too hard for you during the school year now!

  5. Tracie Ware January 19, 2012 at 11:30 am #

    That’s a pretty awesome house. You should be proud.

Leave a Reply

