Will’s Entry: Elena and Disneyland

2 Mar

I feel like I have the most to write about Elena because she never left our side the whole time.  She really was the easiest kid at Disneyland.  Just ate whatever we ate, never whined or complained.  No bathroom breaks, didn’t have to be held at all times.  Not getting a nap didn’t even faze her.  Now if only she got as excited as everyone else . . .

For some reason we started out Disneyland with some of the scariest kid rides.  Yep, Snow White, Pinocchio, and the Haunted Mansion soon after.  Elena would start the ride on my lap facing out but would quickly turn and bury her head in my shoulder for the scary parts.  No crying but I guess that’s how she would deal.  By the 2nd day she was fine and was content just sitting next to Kristin and I during the rides.  She got used to them.

She’s such the stoic kid.  One of my favorite things about Disneyland was just setting her down in line and watching her shuffle with the group.  Unless she’s motivated, she doesn’t walk, she just shuffles most of the time.  Totally blank-faced and content to just follow us and take the occasionally sit on a nearby curb.  There were times when we’d catch passerbys making the looniest faces trying to get a reaction from her.  We’d catch them and ask, “Is she smiling back?”  Most of the time the answer would be “Well, ummm . . . no (thinking ‘have I really been making dumb faces for no reason?’)”  There was another time when I was pushing Jason and her on the stroller and I misjudged a curb and dumped them out.  She landed face-first with her brother on top of her (yes, I had numerous stroller issues).  No reaction, no whimper.  Just put them both back in.  She’s an unique little one.

Oh I just remembered.  We did get a little bit of a reaction on the ferris wheel.  We got into one of the “cars” that swung on the track and the first time it shifted and we did the mini-drop she was TERRIFIED!  I guess she does a weird underbite thing when she’s that scared, we’ve just never seen it before.  She wasn’t crying but you could tell she wasn’t happy.  I think Kristin had some scratches to prove it.

Note to self: 

  • Before we go next time, bring some glow toys for the night-time.  Jason wanted one SOOO bad but there’s no way we’d want to buy those over-priced nick-nacks. 
  • Monitor Sierra’s pepper intake.  She discovered that she liked to add it to her food.  Eggs, soup, orange juice, you name it.
  • Give Bennadryl for the first night’s sleep.  More likely than not, they’ll be allergic to an unfamiliar hotel room . . .
3 Responses to “Will’s Entry: Elena and Disneyland”

  1. Mickie March 2, 2012 at 9:30 am #

    I think Elena did fantastic too. Seriously I don’t think I ever heard her get upset… EVER! She is a good little lady. I am sad I missed the Ferris Wheel ordeal, but glad at the same time I would have been more terrified and probably sick about it 🙂

  2. Kay March 2, 2012 at 11:34 am #

    Mickie, Will looked pretty sick too! Actually that whole side of the “car” was funny to watch, Ty, Will Elena!

    Elena was a dream, wasn’t she? Easy little lady, not much ruffles her feather, happy or sad. The only time I saw a good laugh from her was when she was playing with Dean!

  3. Melissa Spence March 2, 2012 at 11:47 am #

    These are great memories of your kids at Disneyland, good thing you are posting about them so you don’t forget. Now where are all the pics!? 🙂

Leave a Reply

