Sewing room

6 Nov

At the moment this is my favorite room of the house! My dad installed a shelf in the basement closet. It is my my little sewing room! I love it! There were little shelves in there before and it is perfect to put all of my sewing notions on… Will looked at the picture and laughed. “That room looks a lot bigger then it actually is.” Well I like my little room! I can shut out the kids when I need to.

My dad even added electrical from the light switch, so that I could plug in my machines in the same room. It is awesome!

I have sewed more in the last 2 weeks then I have in the last 6 months. There is even a space behind the machines where the fabric can go down the wall and out the bottom. Very important when sewing a quilt. And guess what? I am finishing a quilt! (Yes it is a 2 year old quilt that has just been sitting there). This new room is a great motivator 🙂

While my dad was here, he installed a banister. It has been sitting in the basement since we moved in. I guess my mom almost fell a few times going down the stairs. She was tired of it, so she told my dad to put it up. I just thought it was funny when I heard Mickie going to bed and hearing a thump, thump, thump. I still laugh thinking about it. Haha. What a mean sister I am. I think Suzanne fell a time or two as well.

We were showing my mom the sewing room and didn’t say anything about the banister. She put her hand on it, popped down stairs, and didn’t even realize that she just used it. I said, “Mom!” Then she got really excited because she just realized what she used. The simple joys 🙂

I am thankful I have such a talented Dad! Thank You, Thank You!

3 Responses to “Sewing room”

  1. hgundred November 6, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    Your Dad is pretty talented… 🙂 Love the sewing room. I remember your Mom having one like that when you guys all lived at home. 😉

  2. tracie November 6, 2012 at 10:18 am #

    Really?! There’s never been a banister going down those stairs. Never noticed. 🙂

  3. Kay November 6, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    Pretty amazing guy! Now when he installs the fan in your bathroom, you are going to have to post again…goodness!

Leave a Reply

