Will’s Entry: Perfect Flight

17 Apr

So I’m taking a break from the list of journal entries today. On a Disc Golf website, someone was posting questions with the hope of gathering people’s answers and including them in a report. I thought it would make a good journal entry so here we go.

Q: How did you get into the sport?
A: It seems so long ago. We’d been married over a year and Kristin’s cousin Art had just gotten introduced to the sport. He invited me for my first experience at Bicentenniel Park in Provo. We’d recently graduated BYU and moved out of Provo so I missed my regular pickup basketball games. I wanted a hobby. I remember throwing frisbee with my Grandpa and Dad in my backyard and I spent a summer throwing a frisbee around with a roommate in the courtyard of Liberty Square so I figured I should give it a shot. Then I got hooked.

Q: What about the sport keeps you playing?
A: It’s relaxing and yet incredibly challenging at the same time. I can have fun going alone, going with my kids or going with others. It’s good exercise and relatively cheap.

Q: If you where trying to convince someone to play, how would you?
A: It’s fun. It has a fast learning curve and you can play for a long time since it’s not too physically demanding. Plus it’s just nice to see a disc flying through the air at 45 mph.

Q: How much time do you dedicate out of your life to disc golf?
A: I’m happiest when I can go every Saturday that the weather’s good. Usually it’s just me or just Jason, Sierra and me. Once a week, I’ll practice on my breaks at work. To the Landscaping crew, I’m the guy that throws Frisbees. Aside from that, maybe once a month I’ll take an afternoon off from work and play a more distant course. Oh, and I’ll take breaks when I’m mowing the lawn to practice my putting.

Q: What is one thing everyone should know about disc golf?
A: I don’t want to list its selling points again, so I think that I would want people to know that it’s not just throwing a frisbee 50 feet. I’m not very big but I can throw from one end of a football field to the other side and I’m talking the whole 120 yards. Oh, and not everyone who’s playing nowadays is a hippie.

One Response to “Will’s Entry: Perfect Flight”

  1. Kay April 17, 2013 at 4:35 pm #

    That last sentence was a classic! But oh so, true!

Leave a Reply

