Airplanes

24 Jun

Not sure why didn’t blog yesterday, but today I will blog. Maybe it was because I had a migraine all morning, so the kids just watch TV while I laid in bed. Or maybe it really was not an interesting day.

For the last little bit I have been teaching the kids how to clean the bathrooms. We clean the bathrooms in the afternoon. I forget how much patience and how time intensive it is to have kids clean bathrooms. They clean, I help, and then I have to clean it once they’ve left. I just have to keep telling myself this is a good skill I am teaching the kids.

We did go to the library yesterday as well. Lots of reading books, the kids by themselves and me reading to the kids.

Today has been kind of an interesting day. We went to play volleyball in the morning and unfortunately there was an incident that happened. Before I talk about what happened, here is a picture of Elena playing with Gavin and Lexie. She sure loves chasing after him. He is such a great kid.

  
An older boy, junior high age, showed himself to Sierra today. I was very proud of her for leaving the situation and coming to talk to me about it.

I told her how proud I was of her that she came and talk to me about what happened. I was proud of her for walking out of the situation. We had a conversation with all the kids about the boys choice, and how wrong it was for him to do that.

I am really upset about what happened. After everything I explain to the kids that now at Volleyball they need to stay on the stage or in the gym. They will not be able to go out into the hallways or into the classrooms anymore. I explain to them that it is not a punishment, I want to help keep them safe. We need to make sure we protect ourselves from situations like these. They all understood. I did talk to the step mother who is a friend of mine. She is handling the situation with her husband.

On other news we have been folding paper airplanes and playing crazy eights like crazy. We have paper airplanes all over the house. We checked a book out on how to fold different types of paper airplanes. Needless to say the kids are really enjoying it.

  

Leave a Reply

